Yellow And Orange Bread

It’s winter already and we don’t have much daylight or sun shine here. That’s why I tried to add some sun in the bread I made today.

I did measure the wheat flour, but I got confused somewhere after 6 or 7 dl, so I’m not sure how much I actually used. Use more or less if needed. I didn’t look at the time I baked the breads, but I think it might have been 15-20 minutes.

Sunny Bread
(3 breads)

4,5 dl water
25 g yeast
0,5 tsp salt
2 tsp molasses (dark syrup)
0,5 tsp turmeric (use 1 tsp if you want your bread more yellow)
3 carrots
1 dl sunflower seeds
3 dl rolled oats
1 dl rye flour
about 9 dl wheat flour
2 tbsp oil

Dissolve yeast, salt, molasses and turmeric in lukewarm water. Grate the carrots coarsely and add them with sunflower seeds, oats and rye flour to the water and stir until mixed. Knead a dough with wheat flour. Add the oil in the end of kneading. Cover with a towel and allow to rise until doubled.

Punch down. Make three relatively flat round breads, 15-20 cm diameter. Put them on a baking sheet (two on one baking sheet), cover with a towel and allow to rise 10-15 minutes. Take a narrow drinking glass or small round cookie cutter and make a hole in the middle of each bread. Bake in 225 Celsius degrees until they look ready.

2 comments on “Yellow And Orange Bread

  1. […] This Orange and Yellow Bread from Elite Food was glowing at me through the computer monitor… asking me to go bake some for myself. So warm and toasty looking… […]

  2. kspar66 says:

    Delightful!
    I’ll definitely be making some of this sunny bread! The molasses/carrot combination is scintillating and I bet tumeric and rye just add in crazzzzy good nuances!

Leave a comment