Tomato Thursday: Quiche

In my lacto-ovo days I used to make a cheesy tomato and basil quiche. It was great, but I had never thought about veganizing it, I had kind of forgotten it even existed. But basil plants growing on our window sill reminded me of it, and I decided to try to make a vegan version. I used basic crust recipe and filled the quiche with Tofutti cream cheese and fresh basil and tomatoes. And here’s the result:


piiras

The original quiche had grated cheese on top, but I omitted it in this vegan version. If you want to make extra cheesy quiche, add some melting vegan cheese on top.

Basil and Tomato Quiche

crust:
100 g margarine
1 dl whole wheat flour
2 dl wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
3 tbsp water

filling:
1 tub Tofutti cream cheese
2 tbsp plain soy yogurt (or soy milk or cream)
fresh basil leaves
3-4 tomatoes
salt, pepper

Preheat the oven to 225 Celsius degrees. Crumble the margarine, both flours and baking powder in a bowl. Add a little water to form a dough. Grease a pie dish and spread the dough in it. Bake 8-10 minutes.

Whisk Tofutti and soy yogurt until soft and easily spreadable. Spread on prebaked crust. Cover cheese with fresh basil leaves and sprinkle some salt and pepper. Put a layer of tomato slices on top. Bake until it’s ready. Unfortunately I can’t tell you the correct time, because I didn’t check the time while baking. Besides, I baked my quiche a little too long.

400x84_r1

2 comments on “Tomato Thursday: Quiche

  1. Lovely! I get quiches like this at my favorite vegan-friendly bakery, but I haven’t tried making them at home… maybe I should!

Leave a Reply

