Chickpeas and Eggplant For Dinner

Chickpeas are my favourite legumes and eggplant is my favourite vegetable, so I thought anything made of them would be awesome. I was wrong, todays dinner was only good and not awesome. I think something was missing, maybe lemon juice. But after adding soy sauce (or hot sauce like nomad did) it was pretty close to what I had had in mind. I wanted to serve it with quinoa, but we were out of it and I boiled barley instead.

Chickpeas and Eggplant

2 tbsp oil
0,5 tsp each: caraway seeds, cumin seeds, mustard seeds and ground coriander
2 small onions
2-3 garlic cloves
2 milk or medium hot chilies
1 eggplant
half bell pepper (optional)
water
2 tbsp tomato puré
0,5 tsp thyme and oregano
4 dl cooked chickpeas
salt and pepper

Cut the onions in half moons, mince garlic and chili. Cube the eggplant. Heat the oil in a pot or pan and fry caraway, cumin, mustard seeds and coriander until the seeds start popping. Add onions, garlic and chili and sauté few minutes. Add eggplant cubes and sauté several minutes stirring now and then. Cube the bell pepper too if you’re using it and add them, 2 dl water, tomato puré and herbs to the pot. Simmer until eggplants are soft. Add chickpeas, season with salt and pepper and add more water if it doesn’t look saucy enough. Heat thoroughly. Serve with your favourite cooked grains.

Leave a comment