My First Vegan Tosca Cake

I have made tosca cake with eggs and dairy couple of times in my life and today I made my first vegan version. It was quite ok, but not as good as it could have been. The cake itself doesn’t necessarily need improvement, but next time I’ll use oat or soy milk to see if it makes it even better. The almond topping is the thing that needs to be improved, it’s supposed to be crunchy, but mine was too crunchy and the taste wasn’t as good as I wanted. It looked too thick before I even spread it on the cake, so next time I’ll use 0,5dl oat or soy milk instead of 0,25 dl water. It should make less thick and maybe it makes it taste right too. If not, I’ll try to add more sugar. I think the recipe is worth sharing even it’s not perfect and I have no problem with serving it to my mother tomorrow.

Tosca Cake

150g margarine
1 dl sugar
1 dl apple jam
3 dl wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp vanilla sugar
1,5 dl water

margarine
crushed almonds or bread crumbs

almond topping:
75g margarine
1,25 dl sugar
2 tbsp wheat flour
0,25 dl water
150g sliced almonds

Beat margarine and sugar until creamy. Add apple jam and stir well. Combine wheat flour, baking powder and vanilla sugar in another bowl and add them and water to margarine and sugar mixture and mix everything together. Grease a springform pan (about 27 cm diameter) with margarine and sprinkle with crushed almonds. Bake in 200 Celsius degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Make the tosca: Melt the margarine in a pot. Add sugar, flour and water and bring to boil stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in sliced almonds. Spread the tosca on the cake and bake another 10-15 minutes.

2 comments on “My First Vegan Tosca Cake

  1. Kip says:

    I’d never heard of tosca cake until now, but it sounds delicious! I’m a little jealous of the mother who gets to consume it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

