Improvised Curry

I usually make the dinner when I go visit my mother. She asked beforehand what ingredients she should buy, but I didn’t have any idea of what I’d make, so she just bought something she thought I could use. She had lentils and rice in her pantry and eggplant in her fridge and I made this curry. I mixed toasted peanuts with the rice, but plain rice would be good too.

Eggplant and Lentil Curry

3 tbsp oil
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 (or 3) tbsp mild curry paste
1 small onion
5-10 cm piece of leek
1 big carrot
1 eggplant
4 dl cooked lentils
1-2 dl water

Cut the leek half lengthwise and rinse well, slice. Chop the onion coarsely, dice the carrot and cut the eggplant in bite size chunks. Heat the oil in a large pan and fry cumin and mustard seeds about 30 seconds. Add curry paste, onion and leek and fry a minute or two. Add carrot, turn the heat on medium and simmer about 5 minutes. Add the eggplant, cover the pan with lid and simmer until eggplant is soft. Stir occasionally. Finally add the lentils and enough water to make the curry little more sauce like. Heat thoroughly and serve over rice.

Leave a Reply

