I Love Portobellos

Portobellos are one of my favourite mushrooms, I love them as much as I love chanterelles and porcini. Isa and Terry published a great recipe for roasted portobellos in Veganomicon. And Isa has published a very similar recipe online too. The roasted portobellos are great for burgers or salads. I don’t know how you buy your portobellos in other countries, but here in Finland they are packed into a plastic box, usually 4-5 mushrooms in a pack. I always double the recipe and roast the whole pack at once.

This salad is made of portobellos, heart shaped pasta, iceberg lettuce, tomato, corn, cucumber and chives. Served on my beatiful Mole plate.

portobellosalaatti

Roasted Portobellos (from Veganomicon)

0,5 cup wine*
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 large or up to 4 small portobello caps

Combine all the ingredients for the marinade in a pie plate or casserole dish. Place the mushroom caps upside down in the marinade and spoon a lot of marinade on each cap. Marinade abou 20 minutes and preheat the oven to 200 celsius degrees meanwhile. Cover the dish with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the foil, flip the caps and bake uncovered for 10 more minutes.

* If I don’t have wine,  I substitute it with vegetable broth.

One comment on “I Love Portobellos

  1. I LOVE portobellos – they are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

