No Knead Bread

I was bragging about the carrot focaccia and my sister sent me a link to no knead bread. I had heard about it, but never made it. The recipe can be found in Finnish or in English online. The dough was easy to make, but the dough didn’t rise well. I don’t know if it was because I was trying to make a little healthier bread and I used 3dl whole wheat flour and 4,2dl wheat flour.Or if the kitchen wasn’t warm enough. Or maybe the ridiculously low amount of yeast was too low. The taste was good, and I’ll make this bread again and hopefully I’ll find the way to rise it properly.

noknead

4 comments on “No Knead Bread

  1. I had a bread mishap too. So long as it tastes good that’s what I say.
    🙂

  2. Melisser says:

    I’ve been meaning to make that bread for ages!

  3. the baker next door says:

    This bread looks like it has risen, compared to all other breads you’ve made. No-knead is easy, and tastes great but low gluten content of whole wheat flour may be the reason why it has not risen so well. The “ridiculously low amount of yeast” is enough, adding some more really does not help.
    Maybe you should give it some more time to rise, 3-4 hours instead of two could help. Or place the bread in a little warmer and moist place to rise, e.x. fill the sink with warm (50 degrees C) water and place a grid on it, and of course the bread, covered with a towel…

    • tofuhead says:

      This bread was more ball shape in the beginning than other breads I’ve made, so maybe that’s why it looks like risen better. I like to make my breads little flatter, so the slices fit my mouth nicely. I’ve baked hundreds of breads during last 10 years, so I know what the not-so-well-risen bread feels like and this bread had that kind of thick or tight texture.

      To me the amount of yeast feels ridiculously low, because usually 1 bag of dry yeast is used for 5 dl liquid, so this amount of dough would normally need about 3/4 bag.

      I did give the recipe a second chance about a year ago and used less whole wheat flour and more white wheat flour. The bread was OK, better than first time, but nothing special. Maybe my expectations were just too high. I had read so many praising comments and thought no-knead bread would be the best bread I’ve ever eaten.

Leave a Reply

