My First Focaccia

I have baked bread hunreds of times, but for some reason I had never tried to make focaccia. Then I saw a carrot and onion focaccia recipe in a magazine called Me! (it’s Finnish and means We!) and I gave it a try. Focaccia was delicious and I’m definitely going to make it again and I’m sure I’ll try other focaccia recipes too.

IMG_4605-1Carrot and Onion Focaccia

200g grated carrots
25 g yeast
1 tsp sugar
0,5 tsp salt
3 dl water
2 dl whole wheat flour
4 dl wheat flour

on top:

1 (small) red onion
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp molasses
1 tsp sea salt

In a bowl mix water, grated carrots, yeast, sugar and salt. Add flours and stir or knead a dough. Cover with a towel and let rise until doubled.

Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and sprinkle some flour on it. Spoon half of the dough on the sheet and sprinkle flour on it. Pat the dough to form a flat (about 2cm) bread. Peel the red onion and cut to thin slices or half moons. Spread half of the onion slices on the bread and sprinkle half of the oil, molasses and salt on it. Bake in 250 Celsius degrees for 15 minutes. Make another focaccia the same way.

3 comments on “My First Focaccia

  1. downthepalate says:

    Ooo. I love all kinds of foccacia, but this one has such a nice color! Is it really as orange as it looks in the picture?

  2. Look out for my bread tomorrow on MoFo! I might be calling for your assistance! This bread looks awesome.
    🙂

  3. tofuhead says:

    It really is that orange, thanks to the carrots.

Leave a Reply

