Baked Polenta

I went to the market place and found a huge bag of carrots for only 1,50€. Of course I had to buy them. At home I started to search for carrot recipes. The recipes in my cook books didn’t inspire me this time, but I found a tasty looking polenta recipe from Cat Tea Corner. I never use their alphabetical index, because I have found  “search by ingredient” index more useful. If you want to cook something with a certain ingredient (like carrots), you find the recipes easily. And all the recipes at Cat Tea Corner are vegan.

polentaFrom the helpful ingredient search I found Baked polenta and vegetables with low-fat onion gravy. I’m not copy-pasting the recipe here, because the writer(s) ask not to and you can see it by clicking the link above. The recipe says you can use any vegetables you want, I used carrots, celery, peas and green beans. I didn’t have white wine, so I used only broth for the gravy. This meal was very easy to make, but making it took over an hour. You just cook the ingredients a little while and then wait the polenta to bake and cool. While you wait, you can make the onion gravy and maybe a salad. We had this simple salad, which was just as easy as the polenta.

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Fresh Mint

15 cm piece of cucumber
2 tomatoes
1 small red onion
handful or two of fresh mint leaves

Dressing

2 tblsp olive oil
1 tblsp balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper

Cut the cucumber and tomatoes to chunks and slice the onion, and put them into a salad bowl with mint. Mix the dressing ingredients in a small cup and combine with the salad.

Leave a Reply

